Super Round news, lineups, injuries, how to watch, Stan Sport

Friday’s Super Rugby Pacific clash between the Western Force and Moana Pasifika has been postponed due to a COVID-19 outbreak in the Force squad.

The competition’s medical advisory group made the decision which means Moana Pasifika have now had four games postponed due to the virus in their debut season.

“The Western Force has medically reported considerable numbers of COVID-19 cases within the squad, which under Rugby Australia protocols means they are not available for selection,” Force chief executive Tony Lewis said.

Watch every game of the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific and Super W seasons, streaming ad free, live and on demand only on Stan Sport. Sign up for your free seven day trial!

Hooper catches Force napping

“We have worked closely with Rugby Australia High Performance to firstly protect the integrity of the Western Force club and Super Rugby Pacific.

“We have made every effort possible to assist in making this game go ahead. Despite looking at multiple player replacement options, the number of players affected is simply too great.

“We’d like to thank Moana Pasifika for their understanding, and we look forward to meeting them at a later date.”

READ MORE: Aaron Smith’s explosive accusation after loss

READ MORE: Ugly rugby tactic shunned by fun loving Chiefs

READ MORE: Dejected Reds skipper makes blunt admission

Meanwhile, the Reds have suffered a major blow with the loss of star five-eighth James O’Connor for at least a month with a knee injury.

Young Lawson Creighton will instead make his starting debut against the Hurricanes in Melbourne on Saturday.

The Reds are also without fullback Jordan Petaia (hamstring).

“Trans-Tasman was a tough ride last year against the New Zealanders,” Reds coach Brad Thorn said.

“The challenge will be in front of us again this year. It starts with the Hurricanes and we’re looking forward to a tough match.”


WARATAHS (15-1): Will Harrison, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Izaia Perese, Jamie Roberts, Alex Newsome, Tane Edmed, Jake Gordon (c), Will Harris, Michael Hooper, Charlie Gamble, Hugh Sinclair, Jed Holloway, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Dave Porecki, Angus Bell

Reserves: Tom Horton, Te Tera Faulkner, Archer Holz, Geoffrey Cridge, Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco, Jack Grant, Ben Donaldson, Dylan Pietsch

CHIEFS (15-1): Chase Tiatia, Jonah Lowe, Alex Nankivell, Rameka Poihipi, Quinn Tupaea, Bryn Gatland, Cortez Ratima, Pita Gus Sowakula, Sam Cane (c), Luke Jacobson, Tupou Vaa’i, Josh Lord, Angus Ta’avao, Samisoni Taukei’aho, Aidan Ross

Reserves: Bradley Slater, Ollie Norris, George Dyer, Naitoa Ah Kuoi, Samipeni Finau, Xavier Roe, Rivez Reihana, Inga Finau

Drua’s spine-tingling Na Bole challenge

DRUA vs BLUES, Saturday 5.05pm AEST

DRUA (15-1): Kitione Taliga, Tuidraki Samusamuvodre, Kalaveti Ravouvou, Caleb Muntz, Onisi Ratave, Simione Kuruvoli, Peni Matawalu, Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta, Rusiate Nasove, Meli Derenalagi (c), Viliame Rarasea, Chris Minimbi, Manasa Saulo, Mesulame Dolokoto, Meli Tuni

Reserves: Zuriel Togiatama, Timoci Sauvoli, Jone Koroiduadua, Isoa Nasilasila, Joseva Tamani, Leone Nawai, Jona Mataiciwa, Frank Lomani


Hurricanes carve up Highlanders

REDS vs HURRICANES, Sunday 7.45pm AEST

REDS (15-1): Jock Campbell, Suliasi Vunivalu, Hunter Paisami, Hamish Stewart, Filipo Daugunu, Lawson Creighton, Tate McDermott (c), Harry Wilson, Fraser McReight, Connor Vest, Angus Blyth, Ryan Smith, Taniela Tupou, Richie Asiata, Harry Hoopert

Reserves: Matt Faessler, Dane Zander, Feao Fotuaika, Lopeti Faifua, Angus Scott-Young, Kalani Thomas, Josh Flook, Mac Grealy

HURRICANES (15-1): Jordie Barrett, Julian Savea, Bailyn Sullivan, Peter Umaga-Jensen, Wes Goosen, Aidan Morgan, TJ Perenara, Ardie Savea (c), Blake Gibson, Reed Prinsep, Isaia Walker-Leawere, James Blackwell, Tyrel Lomax, Kianu Kereru-Symes, Pouri Rakete-Stones

Reserves: Leni Apisai, Xavier Numia, Tevita Mafileo, Justin Sangster, Te Kamaka Howden, Jamie Booth, Jackson Garden-Bachop, Billy Proctor

Highlanders denied match-winning try


BRUMBIES (15-1): Tom Wright, Cam Clark, Len Ikitau, Irae Simone, Andy Muirhead, Noah Lolesio, Nic White (c), Pete Samu, Jahrome Brown, Rob Valetini, Cadeyrn Neville, Darcy Swain, Sefo Kautai, Lachlan Lonergan, Scott Sio

Reserves: Folau Fainga’a, James Slipper, Tom Ross, Tom Hooper, Luke Reimer, Ryan Lonergan, Rod Iona, Hudson Creighton



REBELS (15-1): Reece Hodge, George Worth, Andrew Kellaway, Stacey Ili, Glen Vaihu, Matt To’omua, James Tuttle, Michael Wells (c), Brad Wilkin, Rob Leota, Josh Hill, Matt Philip, Cabous Eloff, James Hanson, Cameron Orr

Reserves: Efi Ma’afu, Matt Gibbon, Rhys van Nek, Josh Canham, Tamati Ioane, Sam Wallis, Joe Powell, Carter Gordon

CRUSADERS (15-1): George Bridge, Sevu Reece, Braydon Ennor, Jack Goodhue, Leicester Fainga’anuku, Richie Mo’unga, Mitch Drummond, Cullen Grace, Ethan Blackadder, Pablo Matera, Sam Whitelock, Zach Gallagher, Oli Jager, Codie Taylor (c), George Bower

Reserves: Ricky Jackson, Tamaiti Williams, Fletcher Newell, Dominic Gardiner, Corey Kellow, Bryn Hall, Fergus Burke, Chay Fihaki

For a daily dose of the best of the breaking news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.